Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Congratulations to GlenWyvis Distillery Community Benefit Society

  • Submitted by: Rhoda Grant, Highlands and Islands, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 16 December 2021
  • Motion reference: S6M-02554

That the Parliament congratulates the GlenWyvis Distillery Community Benefit Society on the release of its first malt whisky; welcomes the return of whisky distilling to Dingwall after almost a century; understands that the distillery is powered by sustainable energy and that the grain used in the whisky was produced by another co-operative; further understands that it is a community benefit society, which means that the distillery is owned by thousands of people in the local community; notes what it sees as the potential for community benefit societies and other co-operative models of ownership to make a difference to communities across the Highlands and Islands, and wishes the GlenWyvis Distillery Community Benefit Society success in the future.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Alexander Burnett, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Murdo Fraser, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Emma Roddick, Douglas Ross, Paul Sweeney, Evelyn Tweed, Tess White, Martin Whitfield, Beatrice Wishart