Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Temporary Museum at St Roch's FC

  • Submitted by: Bob Doris, Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 15 April 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-12833

That the Parliament welcomes the temporary conversion of St Roch's FC’s James McGrory Park into a museum; understands that the museum will be opening on 22 April 2024, which will commence six days of celebrating the proud history of the club over the years; acknowledges the esteemed history of St Roch’s FC, founded in 1920 in Glasgow's Garngad, and known affectionately as "The Candy"; recognises the club’s sporting successes, such as winning the Scottish Junior Cup just one year after the club was established, and more recently winning the Central Division Two in 1994-95; notes what it sees as the club’s ability to develop young players that have greatly impacted Scottish football, with the likes of British top all-time scorer, James McGrory, and Lisbon Lion, Stevie Chalmers, having played for the club; understands that the extensive history of the club and the surrounding area will be on display through archive materials, photos, old strips, winners' medals and trophies; welcomes the inclusion of five local schools in the initiative and the provision of free matchday tickets to the pupils; believes that the history of St Roch’s FC is an example of the importance and positive impact that football can have on communities; commends St Roch’s FC and St Roch’s FC Walking Club for developing and curating this event, which will allow locals to explore the rich history of both the area and the club, and believes that such initiatives can also strengthen the grassroots growth of football within communities, and bring greater attention to what it considers to be the benefits of the vibrant lower league football scene in Scotland.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Bill Kidd, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Annie Wells, Tess White