Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Congratulating St Cuthbert’s Primary School on its Educational Success

  • Submitted by: Bob Doris, Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 13 February 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-12148

That the Parliament congratulates everyone connected with St Cuthbert's Primary School, which is located within Benview Campus in Ruchill, on their contribution to what it sees as the hugely positive inspection report from Education Scotland that was published in January 2024; notes that this follows an inspection in November 2023 and that, following that inspection, the school secured a "good" evaluation for both "learning, teaching and assessment" and "raising attainment and achievement"; welcomes that various strengths were identified, including the children being welcoming, friendly and polite, proud of their school and keen to learn and engage well with the wide range of relevant learning activities provided; congratulates the school on reportedly building a strong sense of community based on Gospel values, which contributes to a warm, positive and nurturing relationship between children and staff across the school and results in children learning in a happy and caring environment; commends the school staff team, with praise being extended to both senior leaders and across all staff, which, it understands, has shown a very strong understanding of its community, which helps it to meet children’s needs well; is pleased to see improvements in children’s attainment and achievement acknowledged in the report, with particular improvement in the consistency of high-quality learning and teaching, and in digital skills across the school; thanks staff right across the school, pupils and families for all their efforts, which have contributed to the strong success identified by Education Scotland at St Cuthbert’s Primary, and is confident that the progress identified offers great confidence for the future of education and attainment at St Cuthbert’s, and wishes staff, students and families the very best for the future.

Supported by: Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Tess White