Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Stromness, Orkney, Named Great Town

  • Submitted by: Liam McArthur, Orkney Islands, Scottish Liberal Democrats.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 14 November 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-11221

That the Parliament congratulates Stromness, Orkney, on being named Great Town 2023 at the Academy of Urbanism’s annual Urbanism Awards; notes comments by the lead assessor for the award, that “Stromness punches way above its size and weight. It has huge aspirations and ambitions, welcoming world class research and international companies and residents" and that it "has a thriving community and cultural scene, with particular excellence in modern and contemporary art”; understands that the town is home to Heriot Watt University’s International Centre for Island Technology, as well as the base for the European Marine Energy Centre; recognises what it sees as Stromness’ rich artistic and cultural heritage, including as the birthplace and home of writer and poet, George Mackay Brown; understands that it is currently home to the internationally renowned Pier Arts Centre and hosts the internally acclaimed Orkney Folk Festival each year; further understands that these features, and more, are contained within a town of approximately 2,000 people; believes that Stromness first became a prominent seaport in the 16th century for both European and Atlantic trade, though recorded settlements date back to Norse settlers, who named the area Hamnavoe, roughly meaning "safe harbour"; thanks the Academy of Urbanism for its recognition of Stromness in these awards, and also congratulates the other towns shortlisted for Great Town 2023, Belper in Derbyshire and Caernarfon in Gwynedd, and finally, considers the lead assessor’s closing comments, that "it is no surprise that Orkney residents have been named the happiest and most content in the UK, as their strong community buy in drives these successes".

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Bill Kidd, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Carol Mochan, Edward Mountain, Douglas Ross, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Evelyn Tweed, Tess White