Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Protecting Devolution and the Scottish Parliament

  • Submitted by: Keith Brown, Clackmannanshire and Dunblane, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 16 May 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08885
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Tuesday, 30 May 2023

That the Parliament expresses alarm at what it sees as the UK Government’s escalating disrespect for the devolved settlement; highlights the report of the Parliament's Constitution, Europe, External Affairs and Culture Committee, The Impact of Brexit on Devolution, which identified "increased tension within the devolution settlement" since the UK’s departure from the EU; believes that the Sewel Convention is now regularly breached by the UK Government; underlines that legislative consent was withheld by the Scottish Parliament in relation to the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018, the United Kingdom Internal Market Act 2020, the Environment Act 2021, the Subsidy Control Act 2022, the Elections Act 2022, the Nationality and Borders Act 2022 and the Trade (Australia and New Zealand) Act 2023; considers that the Procurement Bill, the Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill, the Northern Ireland Protocol Bill, and the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill are all proceeding without heed to the devolved legislatures; expresses profound disappointment in the use of an order under section 35 of the Scotland Act 1998 to, it considers, veto devolved legislation; expresses alarm at what it sees as the Secretary of State for Scotland's apparent unilateral rewriting of the agreed rules regarding requests for exemptions from the market access principles contained in the United Kingdom Internal Market Act 2020; considers all of these actions to be part of a pattern of undemocratic behaviour of attacks on the devolution settlement and the Scottish Parliament, and believes that these actions demonstrate the vulnerability of the Scottish Parliament while constituencies like Clackmannanshire and Dunblane, and Scotland as a whole, are under what it sees as UK Government control.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Alasdair Allan, Colin Beattie, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Willie Coffey, Bob Doris, Jackie Dunbar, Jim Fairlie, Kenneth Gibson, Christine Grahame, Emma Harper, Clare Haughey, Bill Kidd, Gordon MacDonald, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Audrey Nicoll, Kaukab Stewart, John Swinney, Michelle Thomson, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed