Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Supporting Scotland at the 2022 Commonwealth Games

  • Submitted by: Jamie Halcro Johnston, Highlands and Islands, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 28 July 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-05558

That the Parliament sends its best wishes to Team Scotland and to all those from the home nations and from across the Commonwealth competing in the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham; understands that this will be the Scottish team’s 22nd appearance since the games began in 1930; congratulates Kirsty Gilmour and Micky Yule on being chosen as Scotland’s flagbearers at the upcoming opening ceremony; notes that The Queen’s Baton travelled through Scotland in June 2022 on its journey to carry the spirit of the games to all corners of the UK and the Commonwealth; recognises what it sees as the positive legacy of sport left by the Commonwealth Games 2014 in Glasgow, and extends its hopes that the 2022 host city will also embrace what it considers these long-term benefits of the games, and wishes Team Scotland competitors every success as the games commence.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Finlay Carson, Foysol Choudhury, Sharon Dowey, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Dean Lockhart, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Audrey Nicoll, Douglas Ross, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Evelyn Tweed, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Tess White, Brian Whittle