Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Buill Pàrlamaid na h-Alba (BPA)

About Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)

Why you have 8 MSPs

Everyone in Scotland is represented by 8 MSPs.

There are 2 types of MSPs. You can contact either type of MSP about any issue dealt with by the Scottish Parliament.

You have:

  • 1 MSP who represents your local area – known as a "constituency MSP"
  • 7 MSPs who represent the larger area that includes your constituency – known as "regional MSPs"