Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Dennis Canavan Scholarship 2024 – Celebrating the Best of Falkirk

  • Submitted by: Michael Matheson, Falkirk West, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 03 April 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-12688

That the Parliament recognises what it sees as the importance of the Dennis Canavan Scholarship, which is an annual £500 financial award to a pupil in the Falkirk area who is leaving school to pursue a full-time course in further or higher education, and who has given notable service to others such as voluntary work, charity sponsorship, sports coaching and caring for others; notes that the scholarship was set up by Falkirk Council in recognition of over 30 years of service and political contribution by Dennis Canavan to the people of Falkirk as an MP and MSP, and further notes that anyone from a school or community organisation can nominate a young person for this award, and that they have until 30 April 2024 to nominate a young person for evaluation in May, and award presentation later in summer or early autumn 2024.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Bob Doris, James Dornan, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Bill Kidd, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Michelle Thomson