Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Robert Gordon University Academics Win Scottish Institute for Policing Research Impact Award

  • Submitted by: Audrey Nicoll, Aberdeen South and North Kincardine, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 06 February 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-12058

That the Parliament congratulates Professor Sarah Pederson, Dr Natascha Mueller-Hirth and Leia Miller, of Robert Gordon University, on winning the Scottish Institute for Policing Research (SIPR) Impact Award, awarded in relation to their research into the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on partnerships between the police and third sector gender-based violence service providers in remote parts of Scotland; understands that the recommendations made in the study include the need for more female police officers in rural areas, the importance of the use of digital and telephone communication, and more specialist training for officers in less-populated areas; notes the funding and research support provided by SIPR; commends the efforts of the researchers in producing what it sees as this important work, and passes on its best wishes for future research opportunities in this field.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Stuart McMillan, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Tess White