Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

National Subsea Centre, Robert Gordon University, University of Strathclyde and Net Zero Technology Centre Establish the Centre for Doctoral Training

  • Submitted by: Audrey Nicoll, Aberdeen South and North Kincardine, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 06 February 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-12056

That the Parliament welcomes the announcement that the National Subsea Centre, in collaboration with Robert Gordon University (RGU), the University of Strathclyde (UoS) and the Net Zero Technology Centre (NZTC), has established the Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) in Net Zero Technologies; understands that the CDT was established for students planning to undertake research to assist in the global transition to net zero whilst continuing a career in industry; notes that the CDT will provide teaching and mentorship for students, enabling them to spend approximately 75% of their time developing important skills, while both working full-time with a company and carrying out PhD-level research projects with taught modules; understands that students completing the programme will achieve an Engineering Doctorate, which is equivalent in academic standing to a conventional PhD, but is achieved through a research and innovation method that is more industrially focused; believes that the CDT is part of a five-year Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between UoS and RGU to collaborate in research and technology development, and that it is open to students with expertise across a range of disciplines, including engineering, computing and IT, science and technology, physics and mathematics; commends the universities, the National Subsea Centre and the NZTC for the creation of the CDT; congratulates the first cohort of students who will undertake the programme, and passes on its best wishes for future success in the CDT's contributions to achieving net zero.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Emma Harper, Liam Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Tess White, Brian Whittle