Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Mackintosh at the Willow Secured by the National Trust for Scotland

  • Submitted by: Annie Wells, Glasgow, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 15 January 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-11868

That the Parliament welcomes reports that Mackintosh at the Willow has been secured and protected for the long term, thanks to the National Trust for Scotland, with what it sees as the vital support of the National Lottery Heritage Fund, the Royal Bank of Scotland, Architectural Heritage Fund, Glasgow City Council and Celia Sinclair Thornqvist and her husband, Rolf Thornqvist; understands that existing staff at Mackintosh at the Willow will transfer to the National Trust for Scotland on their current terms and conditions; further understands that Mackintosh at the Willow is the original and last remaining of Miss Cranston’s famous tea rooms, designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh alongside his wife, Margaret Macdonald, in 1903; believes that the tea rooms are a vital part of Glasgow’s social history, and are cited worldwide in architectural histories as one of the city’s most important contributions towards architecture and the arts, and that they were, alongside Mackintosh and Macdonald’s other works, highly influential in Europe and elsewhere, and acknowledges that the National Trust for Scotland is proud to add this property to its portfolio, alongside what it sees as Mackintosh’s other masterpiece, the Hill House, which is currently undergoing a major restoration programme.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Jackson Carlaw, Sharon Dowey, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Jamie Greene, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Roz McCall, Edward Mountain, Douglas Ross, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Kaukab Stewart, Paul Sweeney (Registered interest) , Sue Webber, Tess White, Brian Whittle