Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

South Scotland Region Winners in the 2023 Thistle Awards

  • Submitted by: Colin Smyth, South Scotland, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 06 December 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-11552

That the Parliament congratulates the many businesses from South Scotland region on their success at the 2023 Scottish Thistle Awards national final, which took place on 1 December; notes that Best B&B or Guest House Experience was awarded to Nithbank Country Estate, Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway; acknowledges that Tourism Individual of the Year was awarded to Melanie Allen, from Nithbank Country Estate, Thornhill, in Dumfries and Galloway; notes that the Cross Keys Inn, Ettrickbridge, in the Scottish Borders, won Best Bar or Pub; further notes that Best Luxury Experience was awarded to Airhouses, Lauder, in the Scottish Borders; further notes that Best Self-Catering Accommodation Experience was awarded to Arden Holiday Cottage, Dumfries, in Dumfries and Galloway; notes that Outstanding Cultural Event or Festival was awarded to Fringe by the Sea, in East Lothian; acknowledges that Outstanding Sporting Event was awarded to Genesis Scottish Open, in East Lothian, and that the Silver Thistle Award for an outstanding contribution to tourism over many years was awarded to David and Wilma Finlay, of the Ethical Dairy, and previously Cream O’Galloway, in Dumfries and Galloway, and understands that the awards are Scotland’s premier tourism and events awards, delivered by VisitScotland, and that they spotlight outstanding achievements in innovation, collaboration, and sustainable practices in tourism.



Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Sarah Boyack, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Foysol Choudhury, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Stuart McMillan, Carol Mochan, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Mercedes Villalba, Tess White