Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Celebrating Age Scotland’s 80th Anniversary

  • Submitted by: Kenneth Gibson, Cunninghame North, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 13 November 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-11200
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Wednesday, 29 November 2023

That the Parliament celebrates the 80th anniversary of Age Scotland’s work to support older people; understands that the first meeting of an earlier incarnation of Age Scotland, the Scottish Old People’s Welfare Committee, took place in Edinburgh in January 1943 to support the war effort and the wellbeing of older people in Scotland; acknowledges that the Committee’s aims were to "gather information of the present position of the care and welfare of the aged and to raise awareness of the needs of older people"; considers that, in the past 80 years, Age Scotland has made an invaluable contribution through its work in helping older people to live as well as possible, in promoting positive views of ageing and later life, and in tackling loneliness and isolation; is aware that Age Scotland recently published the findings of its Big Survey 2023, which aims to take the temperature of what it is like to be an older person in Scotland; recognises that one of the events planned to mark this milestone is a parliamentary reception on 15 November 2023 to celebrate the contribution of older people and groups from the Cunninghame North constituency and across Scotland, including the winners of Age Scotland’s annual awards, and to hear about the charity’s latest research, which it understands outlines the political priorities of people over the age of 50 and how they feel about growing older in Scotland, and wishes chief executive, Katherine Crawford, and everyone at Age Scotland continued success in their future endeavours.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Bill Kidd, Rona Mackay, Ben Macpherson, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Liam McArthur, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Mark Ruskell, Liz Smith, Colin Smyth, Alexander Stewart, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Michelle Thomson, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Tess White, Brian Whittle