Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

East Ayrshire Excels in Scottish Health Awards 2023

  • Submitted by: Brian Whittle, South Scotland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 09 November 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-11165

That the Parliament welcomes the news that an East Ayrshire Community Hospital staff member and an East Ayrshire Council staff member have been nominated at the Scottish Health Awards 2023; understands that the awards seek to recognise the high quality health and social care services that NHS staff and partners deliver to the people of Scotland; notes that Marchburn Ward was nominated for the Care for Mental Health Award as a specialist dementia ward at East Ayrshire Community Hospital, in NHS Ayrshire and Arran; understands that this award seeks to recognise where high quality and compassionate care is being provided to some of the most vulnerable members of Scotland's communities and has resulted in a better outcome for the person receiving care; notes that Euan Grant won the Support Worker award for his role in the Southern Locality Team at East Ayrshire Council, which recognises the contribution that non-clinical support workers make to care of NHS patients through hands-on care or their work behind the scenes; commends all NHS staff and the staff of their delivery partners on their commitment to care, and congratulates Marchburn on its well-deserved nomination, and Grant on his hard-earned win at the Scottish Health Awards.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Jackson Carlaw, Sharon Dowey, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Jamie Greene, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane (Registered interest) , Jamie Halcro Johnston, Craig Hoy, Bill Kidd, Roz McCall, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Tess White