Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, Support for Morocco Earthquake

  • Submitted by: Audrey Nicoll, Aberdeen South and North Kincardine, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 20 September 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-10525

That the Parliament commends the bravery of a delegation of emergency response workers, who were sent to aid victims of the Morocco earthquake, which occurred on 8 September 2023; understands that the UK Government's response consists of 62 search and rescue specialists, four search dogs and a medical assessment team; notes that two of the firefighters, K9 handler crew commander Gary Carroll, based at Portlethen, and watch commander Gavin Brown, based in Dundee, have joined rescue efforts, along with a search dog, Coorie, also from Portlethen; understands that this is the second deployment of Scottish Fire and Rescue Service firefighters to a disaster zone in 2023, following an earthquake in Turkey in February; passes on its deepest gratitude to all emergency personnel and animals; wishes them a safe return home, and extends its deepest sympathies to the friends and loved ones of all the victims in Morocco.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Maggie Chapman, Katy Clark, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Rona Mackay, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Carol Mochan, Paul O'Kane, Mark Ruskell, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Mercedes Villalba, Sue Webber, Brian Whittle