Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Congratulating St Patrick’s Primary and Nursery on Winning Eco-Committee of the Year 2023

  • Submitted by: Monica Lennon, Central Scotland, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 13 June 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-09395

That the Parliament congratulates St Patrick’s Primary and Nursery in Coatbridge on winning Eco-Committee of the Year in the 2023 Eco-Schools Awards; understands that this is the first ever Eco-Committee Award organised by environmental charity Keep Scotland Beautiful; notes that all nominees were from schools that proudly fly the Green Flag, which is the top accolade in the international Eco-Schools programme; further notes that the Eco-Schools Awards are designed to highlight Green Flag schools, colleges, and nurseries that have delivered especially innovative, inspirational and impactful Eco-Schools work; celebrates what it sees as the outstanding environmental action of St Patrick’s Primary and Nursery pupils in setting up and running a pop-up Sustainable Fashion Shop, after learning about the impact of fashion on the aquatic environment in particular; recognises that the pupil-led Eco-Committee is a motivated group of all ages, which meets twice a month to talk about environmental issues in the school community and to come up with innovative ways they can help; further recognises what the whole school has achieved in relation to Learning for Sustainability with the commitment to walk to school to reduce road pollution, and wishes all the young people all the best in their future endeavours to raise awareness of the environment in their community and towards a clean, green and sustainable future.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Foysol Choudhury, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Gillian Mackay, Rona Mackay, Stuart McMillan, Paul Sweeney, Annie Wells, Tess White