Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Spartans FC Promoted to Scottish Professional Football League

  • Submitted by: Foysol Choudhury, Lothian, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 31 May 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-09165

That the Parliament congratulates Spartans FC as they are promoted to the Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) for the first time in their 72-year history; recognises the efforts of the club over the past season; commends the players, coaching staff, supporters, committee members and volunteers for their determination and endurance over the years and throughout the season; notes that Spartans have earned their place in the SPFL after a penalty earned them a 1-0 victory at Cliftonhill; understands that the club and its community have provided opportunities for hundreds of young people to participate in football; recognises what it sees as the importance of sport, and celebrates the players and staff for creating a historic moment in the history of Spartans FC.

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Alexander Burnett, Finlay Carson, James Dornan, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Ben Macpherson, Liam McArthur (Registered interest) , Stuart McMillan, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Sue Webber