Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Congratulations to Glasgow's Hospital Broadcasting Service (HBS) on its Successes at the National Hospital Radio Awards

  • Submitted by: Pam Duncan-Glancy, Glasgow, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 16 May 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08912

That the Parliament congratulates Glasgow’s Hospital Broadcasting Service (HBS) on its triumphs at the prestigious National Hospital Radio Awards 2023; understands that HBS provides therapeutic radio services to patients across NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde, with the main hospitals that they serve including Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Gartnavel General Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, and the Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre; recognises that HBS is a volunteer-run service, which provides a welcome distraction for hospital patients by visiting patients and playing song requests; thanks HBS for its continued commitment to providing what it sees as this important broadcasting service, which, it understands, also involves organising fundraising events throughout the year in order to cover the costs of running the service; recognises that these awards are a testimony to HBS and its volunteers’ and broadcasters' dedicated services to hospital patients across NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde, and congratulates HBS on its recent 50th anniversary.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Foysol Choudhury, Bob Doris, Pam Gosal, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane (Registered interest) , Bill Kidd, Liam McArthur, Stuart McMillan, Paul O'Kane, Collette Stevenson, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Annie Wells, Tess White