Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Congratulations to Professor Elizabeth Cottier-Cook

  • Submitted by: Jenni Minto, Argyll and Bute, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 21 March 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08290

That the Parliament congratulates Professor Elizabeth Cottier-Cook from the Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS) on winning the Outstanding Contribution prize at the Women in Scottish Aquaculture Awards; understands that this comes in recognition of Professor Cottier-Cook's research contribution on the international stage as an expert in seaweed biosecurity; notes that Professor Cottier-Cook runs the European Joint Master's Degree in aquaculture; understands that she is also a non-native invasive marine species expert currently working as part of a group assessing ecological risks from invasive species most recently in the UK's Overseas Territories; notes what it sees as the incredible example Professor Cottier-Cook sets for women in science, and wishes her all the very best for the future.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Maggie Chapman, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Emma Roddick, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Evelyn Tweed, Tess White, Beatrice Wishart