Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

80th Anniversary of HMS Dasher's Sinking

  • Submitted by: Kenneth Gibson, Cunninghame North, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 01 March 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08051

That the Parliament commemorates the 80th anniversary of the sinking of the aircraft carrier, HMS Dasher; understands that, on 27 March 1943, HMS Dasher suffered an internal explosion while sailing between Arran and Ardrossan, causing the vessel to sink, leading to the tragic loss of 379 of the ship’s 528 crewmen; recognises that, despite rapid response from ships and rescue teams at Brodick, Lamlash, Ardrossan and Greenock, the death toll was among the highest of any ship sinking in British waters; is aware that the wreck is an official war grave, designated as a controlled site under the Protection of the Military Remains Act 1986, and notes the memorials erected in Ardrossan and Scapa Flow which pay tribute to those who died.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Katy Clark, Graeme Dey, Natalie Don, Annabelle Ewing, Murdo Fraser, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Stuart McMillan, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, Tess White, Martin Whitfield, Beatrice Wishart