Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Scottish Thistles Netball Team Qualifies for the Netball World Cup 2023

  • Submitted by: John Mason, Glasgow Shettleston, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 14 February 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-07893

That the Parliament recognises the achievement of the Scottish Thistles Netball Team, which has qualified for the Netball World Cup 2023 in South Africa later in 2023; understands that qualification took place during the European Netball World Cup Qualifiers held at the Emirates Arena, Glasgow; notes that the Scottish Thistles is the senior representative netball team for Scotland and is ranked 10th in the world; considers that this achievement increases the visibility of female sports and athletes, and that it directly contributes to increased engagement and participation levels for females, with associated physical and mental health benefits; applauds the decades of work and dedication by netball clubs, athletes, coaches, umpires, officials, volunteers, partners and the sport’s governing body, Netball Scotland, and wishes the Scottish Thistles Netball Team every success at the Netball World Cup and beyond.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Donald Cameron, Natalie Don, Bob Doris, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Rachael Hamilton, Bill Kidd, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed