Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Isle of Arran Music School Wins Community Music Project of the Year

  • Submitted by: Kenneth Gibson, Cunninghame North, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 12 December 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-07187

That the Parliament congratulates Isle of Arran Music School for winning Community Music Project of the Year at the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards; notes that the celebratory 20th anniversary of the award was held at Dundee’s Caird Hall on 4 December 2022; acknowledges that Isle of Arran Music School, which picked up the top award, is a community organisation and charity whose purpose is to advance the musical education of young people living on Arran, promote national heritage and culture, and increase public exposure to, appreciation of, and involvement in music and the performing arts; is aware that the School also works with the wider community to engage new audiences by encouraging their attendance at and participation in music rehearsal, concerts and community music making, and wishes chairperson, Quinton Black, head teacher, Susan Foster and all pupils, teachers and parents involved in the Isle of Arran Music School all the best in their future endeavours.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Foysol Choudhury, Graeme Dey, Natalie Don, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed