Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Congratulating the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland on its 175th anniversary in 2022

  • Submitted by: Kaukab Stewart, Glasgow Kelvin, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 07 November 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-06611

That the Parliament congratulates The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (RCS) on its 175th anniversary in 2022; notes that the RCS has been teaching the performing arts in Glasgow since 1847; understands that the RCS has grown from a national academy of music to being one of the most interdisciplinary and collaborative institutions in the world; commends the RCS for being consistently ranked within the world’s top 10 performing arts institutions, including most recently achieving fifth place in the QS World Rankings for Performing Arts Education; recognises what it sees as the RCS’s deep commitment to fair access, and wishes the RCS ongoing success in pursuit of its stated goal to raise the transformative power and reach of the performing arts in Scotland and beyond.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Donald Cameron, Maggie Chapman, Graeme Dey, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Jim Fairlie, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Ross Greer, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Rona Mackay, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Emma Roddick, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Sue Webber, Annie Wells