Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Tour of Britain Stage One Begins in Aberdeen

  • Submitted by: Tess White, North East Scotland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 20 September 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-05914

That the Parliament congratulates Aberdeen on hosting Stage One of the AJ Bell Tour of Britain 2022, which is a multi-stage cycling race with eight stages taking place across the UK over a series of days; notes that this was the first time the North East has hosted the start of the event since it began in 1945, with cyclists setting off from Aberdeen’s Union Street; congratulates Corbin Strong on winning the 181.3km race, which finished at Glenshee Ski Centre; understands that Stage One included the first-ever opening day summit finish in modern race history, the Old Military Road climb from Auchallater to Glenshee Ski Centre, which measures 9.1km long, with the final 5km averaging a gradient of 4.8%; further understands that in the leadup to the Tour of Britain, a fortnight of cycling activities took place across Aberdeenshire in a programme called Cycle Aberdeenshire, including talks with pro cyclists and activities for children to create a legacy from the event; believes that the success of the event further demonstrates Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire’s capacity to host large-scale events; commends the event organisers and all the riders who took part, as well as the spectators who helped to create such a memorable atmosphere, and wishes the cyclists well for the rest of the Tour.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Finlay Carson, Sharon Dowey, Russell Findlay, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Jamie Greene, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Roz McCall, Edward Mountain, Douglas Ross, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Annie Wells, Brian Whittle