Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

33rd Orkney International Science Festival

  • Submitted by: Liam McArthur, Orkney Islands, Scottish Liberal Democrats.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 13 September 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-10426

That the Parliament congratulates the organisers of the Orkney International Science Festival on another successful series of events, which concluded on 13 September 2023; understands that the Science Festival is celebrating its 33rd year, having run continuously since 1991, and that this makes the festival the second-oldest of its kind in the world; believes that the festival has firmly established itself as a major contributor to the cultural life in Orkney; recognises what it sees as the crucial role that the festival plays in encouraging greater public engagement with scientific learning and understanding; believes that the 2023 festival is evidence of Orkney’s role as a centre for research, notably in relation to renewable energy, with events focussing on offshore wind, the future of tidal energy, and even the future potential for nuclear fusion; recognises that the centrepiece of the 2023 festival was a six-metre-diameter sun, suspended within St Magnus Cathedral, with time-lapse NASA photography of the sun projected onto the surface, allowing visitors to experience the dynamic energy of solar flares and storms; commends the festival organisers for embracing the cultural and artistic dimension of science, with events including talks on the mathematics of dancing and art and concerts held in St Magnus Cathedral; considers that the Science Festival is one part of a varied and vibrant collection of internationally-renowned festivals held in Orkney that contribute significantly to the cultural life of the nation; congratulates everyone involved in organising and contributing to the festival, and in particular its inspirational director, Howie Firth, and wishes the festival continued success over the years to come.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Donald Cameron, Sharon Dowey, Annabelle Ewing, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Roz McCall, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Audrey Nicoll, Paul O'Kane, Douglas Ross, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Sue Webber, Tess White, Martin Whitfield, Beatrice Wishart