Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Seòmar agus comataidhean

Annan Athletic FC Making History

  • Submitted by: Colin Smyth, South Scotland, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Wednesday, 24 May 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-09097

That the Parliament congratulates Annan Athletic FC on winning promotion to the Scottish Professional Football League One (SPFL1) following its 5-2 aggregate win over Clyde FC in the League One play-off final; understands that the black and golds have made history by being promoted to League One for the first time ever having played in League Two since its admission to the Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) in 2008; commends the clubs tenacity in securing promotion at the sixth attempt, having narrowly missed out in the play-offs on five previous occasions; understands that the club has long been an important part of the local community, since it was founded in 1942, and that as a Community Benefit Society, it is now 100% owned by the community, and wishes the team well in League One next season.

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Neil Bibby, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Finlay Carson, Foysol Choudhury, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Stuart McMillan, Carol Mochan, Paul O'Kane, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber, Tess White, Martin Whitfield