



SPICe Fact Sheet Duilleagan Fiosrachaidh SPICe

Parliamentary Appointments: Session 6

This Fact Sheet contains information on parliamentary appointments during Session 6. It provides information about membership details for:

- Parliamentary Bureau
- Scottish Commission for Public Audit
- Scottish Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund
- Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB)

Published on 23 April 2025 by the authority of the Scottish Parliament



The Parliamentary Bureau consists of the Presiding Officer and representatives of each political party or group in the Parliament which has five or more members. The representatives are nominated by the leader of each party. The main functions of the Parliamentary Bureau are to:

- propose the business programme;
- propose alterations to the Daily Business List in the Business Bulletin if there should be changes in the advance programme;
- propose the establishment, remit, membership and duration of any committee or sub-committee;
- determine any question regarding the competence of a committee to deal with a matter, and, if two or more committees are competent to deal with a matter, to determine which of those committees is to be the lead committee responsible for that matter.

The Scottish Commission for Public Audit was established under Section 12 of the Public Finance and Accountability (Scotland) Act 2000 and is made up of 5 MSPs. The main areas of responsibility of the Commission are to:

- examine Audit Scotland's proposals for the use of resources and expenditure and report on them to the Parliament;
- appoint a qualified person to audit the accounts of Audit Scotland;
- lay before the Parliament and publish a copy of Audit Scotland's accounts and the auditor's report on them;
- appoint three of the five members of Audit Scotland on such terms and conditions as the SCPA determines;
- appoint one of these three members to preside at meetings of Audit Scotland.

The Scottish Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund is the Fund for the pensions of MSPs and Law Officers under the terms of the Scottish Parliamentary Pension Scheme.

The Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB) is chaired by the Presiding Officer and is made up of at least four members elected by Parliament from its MSPs. It is responsible for ensuring that the Scottish Parliament is provided with the property, staff and services it requires.

Party	Abbreviation
Alba	Alba
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	Con
Scottish Green Party	Green
Scottish Labour	Lab
Scottish Liberal Democrats	LD
Scottish National Party	SNP
Independent MSPs	Ind
No Party Affiliation	NPA

Parliamentary Bureau

Alison Johnstone MSP (NPA)

Convener (18 May 2021 – to date)

George Adam MSP (SNP)

Member (20 May 2021 -8 May 2024)

Neil Bibby MSP (Lab)

Member (18 May 2021 – 18 April 2023)

Alexander Burnett (Con)

Member (22 September 2022-to date)

Patrick Harvie (Green)

Member (18 May 2021 – 5 July 2021)

Jamie Hepburn (SNP)

Member (8 May 2024- to date)

Stephen Kerr MSP (Con)

Member (18 May 2021 – 22 September 2022)

Gillian Mackay MSP (Green)

Member (5 July 2021- to date)

Willie Rennie MSP (LD)

Member (14 April 2025- to date)

Martin Whitfield MSP (Lab)

Member (18 April 2023- to date)

Scottish Commission for Public Audit

Colin Beattie MSP (SNP)

Member (24 June 2021 – to date)

Sharon Dowey MSP (Con)

Member (24 June 2021 – 21 March 2024)

Jamie Greene MSP (Con)

Member (16 May 2024 – to 24 June 2024)

Chair (24 June 2024 – to date)

Daniel Johnson MSP (Lab)

Member (24 June 2021 – to date)

Richard Leonard MSP (Lab)

Member (23 June 2021 – to date)

Mark Ruskell MSP (Green)

Member (24 June 2021 – to date)

Scottish Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund

Pauline McNeill MSP (Lab)

Chair (29 March 2022- to date)

Trustee (14 June 2017 – 29 March 2022)

Mark Ballard

Trustee (9 March 2022 – to date)

Murdo Fraser MSP (Con)

Trustee (9 March 2022 – to date)

Alison Harris

Chair (24 September 2019- 9 March 2022)

Trustee (14 June 2017- 24 September 2019)

Gordon MacDonald MSP (SNP)

Trustee (9 March 2022 – to date)

Gil Paterson

Trustee (7 December 2011- 9 March 2022)

Mark Ruskell MSP (Green)

Trustee (14 June 2017- 9 March 2022)

Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB)

Alison Johnstone MSP (NPA)

Convener (20 May 2021 – to date)

Claire Baker MSP (Lab)

Appointed Member (20 May 2021 – to date)

Jackson Carlaw MSP (Con)

Appointed Member (20 May 2021 – to date)

Maggie Chapman MSP (Green)

Appointed Member (20 May 2021 – to date)

Christine Grahame MSP (SNP)

Appointed Member (20 May 2021 – to date)

About SPICe

The **Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe)** provides impartial, factual, accurate and timely information and analysis for the Parliament.

For more information please visit our website at www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-committees/research-prepared-for-parliament

Follow SPICe on Twitter to keep up to date with our work and new publications.