Cross-Party Group on Scottish Gypsy/Travellers

29th September 2021: 12.30pm

Minute

Present

MSPs

David Torrance Maggie Chapman Elena Whitham Miles Briggs

Invited guests

Non-MSP Group Members

Suzanne Munday MECOPP

Zoe Hisbent Office Manager to David Torrance

Tony Cain ALACHO Dominique Barr COSLA

Anisa Omar Scottish Government

Leslie Drury Article 12

Susan Townsley
Virginia Francis
Tommy Bennett
Michelle Foy
Community Member
Community Member
Community Member

Apologies

Peter Ross MECOPP
Charise Barclay-Daly MECOPP
Mhairi Craig MECOPP

Agenda item 1

David Torrance (MSP) welcomed attendees to the first meeting of the new Parliamentary Session.

Agenda item 2

David Torrance explained that the purpose of this meeting was to elect Office Bearers and the Secretariat to the Cross Party Group.

Election of Convenor: David Torrance (MSP) was proposed by Suzanne Munday (MECOPP) and seconded by Maggie Chapman (MSP). David Torrance (MSP) was elected Convenor.

Election of Vice Convenor: Maggie Chapman (MSP) and Miles Briggs (MSP) were proposed by David Torrance (MSP) as joint Vice Convenors and seconded by Elena Whitham (MSP). Maggie Chapman (MSP) and Miles Briggs (MSP) were elected as joint Vice Convenors.

Election of Secretariat: MECOPP was proposed as the Secretariat to the CPG by David Torrance (MSP) and seconded by Miles Briggs (MSP). MECOPP was appointed as Secretariat.

Agenda item 3

The date of the next meeting was agreed as 19^{th} November 2021, 1.00 - 2.30pm subject to approval from the Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee.