## **Cross-Party Group Annual Return**

### Name of Cross-Party Group

#### **Cross-Party Group on Accident Prevention and Safety Awareness**

**Date Group Established** (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

June 8, 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

June 7, 2022

#### **Date Annual Return Submitted**

27/06/22

**Date of Preceding AGM** [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

#### **Group Meetings and Activities**

08/06/2021 Focus on child safety 3 MSPs, 29 non-MSPs The main subjects discussed at the meeting were: trading standards and product safety with a focus on unsafe toys or items not intended for use as toys such as super-strong magnets; the devastating impact of button battery ingestion from the perspective of a trauma consultant; a Scotland-wide alert system to aid networking

26/10/2021 Focus on fire safety 2 MSPs, 31 non-MSPs Topics discussed: new fire alarm legislation in Scotland; partnership working with SFRS; Scottish Burned Children Club and their work; quad bikes; open water swimming.

01/02/2022

Focus on occupational safety 1 MSP, 32 non-MSPs Topics discussed; how occupational medicine and health is viewed in Scotland; the LOcHER project and health and safety teaching in schools.

29/03/2022

Pitch presentations

2 MSPs, 34 non-MSPs

Topics discussed: how recent changes to the Highway Code affect cyclists, button batteries, online marketplaces, water safety educational resource, drowning and incident review, RoSPA fall fighters sessions, poisoning prevention project, window lock project.

## **MSP Members of The Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Clare Adamson (SNP)

Claire Baker (Lab)

Graham Simpson (Con)

Miles Briggs (Con)

Emma Harper (SNP)

Mark Ruskell (Greens)

## Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	David Birrell Andy Cathro Maurice Corry Mark Lilley Sylvia Mackay Kenny Macleod John Nelson Duncan Spiers
	Margaret Spiers
	Brian Topping
	Liz Young
Organisations	Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA Scotland) - secretary
	Absafe
	Advice Direct Scotland
	Argyll and Bute Council
	ARAMARK
	Association of British Insurers
	Association of Local Authority Chief Housing Officers
	Barnardos
	Bluerad LLP
	British Automatic Fire Sprinkler Association (BAFSA)
	British Psychological Society, Division of Health Psychology – Scotland
	British Toy and Hobby Association (BTHA)
	Building Engineering Services Association (BESA)
	Building Research Establishment
	Caledonia Public Affairs Ltd

Canoe Scotland
Care and Repair Scotland
Care Inspectorate
Central Training Services Ltd
CIRAS
Child Accident Prevention Trust
Church of Scotland
Clydeside Action
CO Research Trust
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
Convention of Scottish Local Authorities
CPIN (Consumer and Public Interest Network)
Crossreach
Cycling Scotland
Cycling UK
DAB Plus
Duradiamond Healthcare
Electrical Safety First
Fife Council Housing and Safer Communities Service
Fire Brigade Union Scotland
Gas Safe Register
Gistworld
Good Egg Safety CIC
Green Cross Training
Health and Safety Executive
Health and Safety in Voluntary Sector Scotland
Health and Safety Network (CDN) Scotland's Colleges
Healthy Working Lives
Highland Council
Home Safety Scotland
-

IAM Roadsmart
Information Services Division, NHS Scotland
Injury Observatory for Britain and Ireland
IOSH Scotland
Jacobs Infrastructure
John McNicol Electrical Engineers
Key and Community Lifestyles
Kingdom Housing Association Ltd
Lion Safety
Macfarlan Smith
Magnox Ltd
Midlothian Council
Morgan Sindall
NASUWT
Neighbourhood Watch Scotland
Network Rail
NG Homes
NHS Dumfries and Galloway
NHS Grampian
NHS Fife
NHS GGC
NHS Lothian
Partnership on Health and Safety in Scotland
Play Scotland
Public Health Scotland
Road Safety Strategic Partnership Board
Robert Gordon University
Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors
Royal National Lifeboat Institution
Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health
Royal Hospital for Sick Children Glasgow
1

Royal Life Saving Society UK
Safety Groups UK
Scot PHO
Scotland's Campaign Against Irresponsible Drivers
Scottish Adventure Activities Forum
Scottish Autism
Scottish Canoe Association
Scottish Childminding Association
Scottish Community Safety Network
Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
Scottish Hazards
Scottish Landlords
Scottish Occupational Road Safety Alliance (ScORSA)
Scottish Outdoors Consortium
Scottish Pre School Play Association
Scottish Social Care Partners Forum
Scottish Swimming
Scottish Trauma Network
Scottish Waste Industry Training, Competence and Health and Safety (SWITCH) Forum
Scottish Water
SGN
SELECT
Smart Play Network
SNIPEF
Society of Chief Officers of Trading Standards in Scotland
South Ayrshire Council Community Planning
SPFL Trust
SprinklerSafe Europe Ltd
SSERC

St Andrew's First Aid
TechnipFMC
The Risk Factory
The Wise Group
Totseat
University of the West of Scotland
Viridis Safety
Water Safety Scotland
Wild Wimmin
ZERO Waste Scotland

## **Group Office Bearers**

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Clare Adamson MSP
Deputy Convener	Graham Simpson MSP
Secretary	Liz Lumsden (RoSPA)
Treasurer	

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500).

# Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

Convener Contact Details		
Name	Clare Adamson MSP	
Parliamentary address	Room 4.10 Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP	
Telephone number	0131 348 6377	