MEMBERSHIP OF EUROPEAN BODIES

- The Scottish Parliament is able to nominate one full member and an alternate member of both the Committee of Regions (CoR) UK Contact Group and the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe (CLRAE).
- 2. In previous sessions, the full member has tended to come from the party of Government and the alternate member from the main opposition party. Members of the Constitution, Europe, External Affairs and Culture (CEEAC) Committee are best placed to fulfil these roles. Initial nominations to these bodies were agreed by the Bureau on 7 February 2023.
- 3. Following changes to the membership of the CEEAC Committee, the Bureau agreed on 9 May 2023 that—
 - Ben Macpherson would replace Jenni Minto as a full member of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe
 - Neil Bibby would replace Sarah Boyack as an alternate member of the Committee of Regions Contact Group.
- 4. This produced the following Memberships:

	Committee Of Regions Contact Group	Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe
Neil Bibby	Alternate Member	-
Alasdair Allan	Full Member	-
Maurice Golden	-	Alternate Member
Ben Macpherson	-	Full Member

- 5. Following recent changes to Committee Membership, is now invited to agree the following changes to membership of the relevant bodies—
 - Keith Brown be nominated to replace Ben Macpherson as the Parliament's full member of CLRAE
 - Kate Forbes to replace Alastair Allan as the full member of the CoR UK Contact Group
 - Alexander Stewart to replace Maurice Golden as alternate Member of CLRAE
- 6. This would produce the following updated membership:

	Committee Of Regions Contact Group	Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe
Neil Bibby	Alternate Member	-

Kate Forbes	Full Member	-
Alexander Stewart	-	Alternate Member
Keith Brown	-	Full Member

Decision

7. The Bureau is invited to nominate Keith Brown as a full member of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe; Kate Forbes as a full Member of the Committee of Regions UK Contact Group and Alexander Stewart as alternate Member of CLRAE.

Parliamentary Business Team September 2023