## PARLIAMENTARY BUREAU: COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

1. The Scottish National Party is seeking to make the following changes to committee memberships—

Committee	Membership Change(s)			
Constitution, Europe, External Affairs and	Kate Forbes to replace Ben Macpherson			
Culture	Keith Brown to replace Alasdair Allan			
Criminal Justice	John Swinney to replace Collette Stevenson			
Economy and Fair Work	Kevin Stewart to replace Fiona Hyslop			
	Ash Regan to replace Michelle Thomson			
Education, Children and Young People	Michelle Thomson to replace Bob Doris			
Net Zero, Energy and Transport	Ben Macpherson to Replace Fiona Hyslop			
Rural Affairs and Islands	Kate Forbes to replace Christine Grahame			
Social Justice and Social Security	Bob Doris to replace Gordon Macdonald			
Standards, Procedures and Public	Christine Grahame to replace Emma Harper			
Appointments	Ivan McKee to replace Bob Doris			

2. The Bureau has previously discussed the matter of gender balance on committees. These changes would result in the following changes to the gender balance of the relevant committees<sup>1</sup>:

		Before changes				After changes				Change
Committee	Total	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	
CEEAC	7	6	1	86%	14%	5	2	71%	29%	+1M-1F
CJ	8	3	5	38%	62%	4	4	50%	50%	+1M-1F
EFW	9	5	4	56%	44%	6	3	67%	33%	-1M+1F
ECYP	10	6	4	60%	40%	5	5	50%	50%	+1M-1F
NZET	7	3	4	43%	57%	4	3	57%	43%	0
RAI	9	3	6	33%	67%	3	6	33%	67%	0
SJSC	8	5	3	63%	37%	5	3	63%	37%	0
SPPA	5	4	1	80%	20%	4	1	80%	20%	0

3. In order for these changes to be made in time for Committees to start planning for meetings after recess, the Bureau is invited to agree to lodge a motion proposing these changes to take effect from close of Business on Thursday 29 June and that the motion be taken on Wednesday 28 June.

## Parliamentary Business Team June 2023

<sup>1</sup> The figures for the EFW Committee and NZET Committee reflect the gender balance before Fiona Hyslop's resignation following her appointment as a junior Scottish Minister.