PB/S6/23/55

PARLIAMENTARY BUREAU: COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

1. The Scottish Labour Party is seeking to make the following changes to committee memberships—

Committee	Membership Change(s)						
Citizen Participation and Public	Foysol Choudhury to replace Carol Mochan						
Petitions Committee							
Constitution, Europe, External	Neil Bibby to replace Sarah Boyack						
Affairs and Culture							
Delegated Powers and Law	Mercedes Villalba to replace Carol Mochan						
Reform							
	Pam Duncan-Glancy to replace Michael Marra						
People							
Equalities, Human Rights and	Paul O'Kane to replace Pam Duncan-Glancy						
Civil Justice							
Finance and Public	Michael Marra to replace Daniel Johnson						
Administration							
Health, Social Care and Sport	Carol Mochan to replace Paul O'Kane						
Rural Affairs and Islands	Rhoda Grant to replace Mercedes Villalba						
Social Justice and Social Security	Paul O'Kane to replace Pam Duncan-Glancy						
	Katy Clark to replace Foysol Choudhury						

- 2. The Party is also seeking to make changes to committee substitutes and details of those changes are included in the annexe to this paper.
- 3. The Bureau has previously discussed the matter of gender balance on committees. These changes would result in the following changes to the gender balance of the relevant committees:

			Before	changes			Change			
Committee	Total	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	
CPPPC	5	4	1	80%	20%	5	0	100%	0%	+1M-1F
CEEAC	7	5	2	57%	43%	6	1	86%	14%	+1M-1F
DPLR	5	4	1	57%	43%	4	1	80%	20%	+1M-1F
ECYP	10	7	3	60%	40%	6	4	60%	40%	-1M+1F
EHRCJ	7	1	6	29%	71%	2	5	29%	71%	+1M-1F
FPA	7	5	2	71%	29%	5	2	71%	29%	0
HSCS	10	4	6	40%	60%	3	7	30%	70%	-1M+1F
RAI	9	3	6	33%	67%	3	6	33%	67%	0
SJSC	8	5	3	63%	37%	5	3	63%	37%	0

PB/S6/23/55

- 4. For information, the annexe includes a table illustrating the current gender balance of membership on each committee both before and after the proposed changes.
- 5. In order for these changes to be made in time for Committees meeting in the week commencing 24 April, the Bureau is invited to agree to lodge motions proposing these changes and that the motions be taken on Tuesday 25 April.

Parliamentary Business Team April 2023

PB/S6/23/xx

		Current Membership				New Membership								
Committee	Total	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female	Male	Female			Party		
COVID-19	6	6	0	100%	0%	6	0	100%	0%	3	2	1	0	0
CPPPC	5	4	1	80%	20%	5	0	100%	0%	2	2	1	0	0
CEEAC	7	5	2	71%	29%	6	1	86%	14%	3	2	1	1	0
Criminal Justice	8	3	5	38%	63%	3	5	38%	63%	4	2	2	0	0
DPLR	5	4	1	80%	20%	4	1	80%	20%	2	2	1	0	0
Economy	9	5	4	56%	44%	5	4	56%	44%	4	2	2	1	0
Education	10	7	3	70%	30%	6	4	60%	40%	5	2	1	1	1
Equalities	7	1	6	14%	86%	2	5	29%	71%	3	2	1	1	0
Finance	7	5	2	71%	29%	5	2	71%	29%	3	2	1	1	0
Health	10	4	6	40%	60%	3	7	30%	70%	5	2	2	1	0
Local Govt	7	4	3	57%	43%	4	3	57%	43%	3	2	1	1	0
NZET	7	3	4	43%	57%	3	4	43%	57%	3	2	1	1	0
PAC	5	4	1	80%	20%	4	1	80%	20%	2	2	1	0	0
RAINE	9	3	6	33%	67%	3	6	33%	67%	4	2	1	1	1
SJSS	8	5	3	63%	37%	5	3	63%	37%	4	2	2	0	0
SPPA	5	4	1	80%	20%	4	1	80%	20%	2	2	1	0	0
TOTAL	115	67	48	58%	42%	68	47	59%	41%	52	32	20	9	2
										45%	28%	17%	8%	2%

PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUSTITUTE CHANGES

Daniel Johnson be appointed to replace Colin Smyth as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Finance and Public Administration Committee;

Alex Rowley be appointed to replace Sarah Boyack as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Local Government and Housing Committee;

Sarah Boyack be appointed to replace Mercedes Villalba as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Ney Zero, Energy and Transport Committee;

Sarah Boyack be appointed to replace Paul O'Kane as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Equalities, Human Rights and Civil Justice Committee;

Paul Sweeney be appointed to replace Rhoda Grant as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Citizen Participation and Public Petitions Committee;

Daniel Johnson be appointed to replace Paul Sweeney as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Economy and Fair Work Committee;

Mercedes Villalba be appointed to replace Colin Smyth as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Rural Affairs Island and Natural Environment Committee;

Foysol Choudhury be appointed to replace Claire Baker as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Constitution, Europe and External Affairs Committee;

Colin Smyth be appointed to replace Katy Clark as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Public Audit Committee;

Colin Smyth be appointed to replace Rhoda Grant as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee; and

Neil Bibby be appointed to replace Daniel Johnson as the Scottish Labour Party substitute on the Criminal Justice Committee