

# Minutes of Parliamentary Bureau meeting

## 6 February 2024

#### Present:

- Alison Johnstone (Chair)
- Annabelle Ewing
- Liam McArthur
- Gillian Mackay
- George Adam
- Alexander Burnett
- Martin Whitfield

#### Also attended:

Jackie Dunbar

#### Officials present:

- Michelle Hegarty
- Tracey White
- Katy Orr
- Mark Brough
- Fran Iwanyckyj
- Matthew Linden
- Joanna Hardy
- Jason Nairn
- Jennifer Griffin
- Samantha Currie

## Agenda item 1 - Previous minutes and matters arising

1. The Bureau agreed the minutes of its meeting on Tuesday 30 January.

# Agenda item 2 - Business Programme

2. The Bureau considered the programme of business for the week commencing 5 February and agreed to recommend to the Parliament a programme of business for the weeks commencing 19 and 26 February.



- 3. Alexander Burnett requested a Ministerial Statement on ferries, with reference to the recent Ardrossan Harbour port closure and MV Alfred uncertainty, as well as the increased delays for Glen Sannox and Glen Rosa. Martin Whitfield supported the request.
- 4. The Bureau agreed that Members' Business on Tuesday 20 February would be Gordon MacDonald: Gas and Electricity Standing Charges; on Wednesday 21 February Douglas Lumsden: Declaration to Triple Nuclear Energy Launched at COP28 and on Thursday 22 February Kaukab Stewart: Immediate Ceasefire in Gaza and Israel.

## Agenda item 3 – Timetabling of a Bill at Stage 2

5. The Bureau agreed to recommend to the Parliament that the deadline for consideration of the Wildlife Management and Muirburn (Scotland) Bill at Stage 2 be extended to Friday 23 February 2024

# Agenda item 4 – Approval of Committee to meet at the same time as the Chamber

6. The Bureau agreed to recommend to the Parliament that the Rural Affairs and Islands Committee be given permission to meet at the same time as the Chamber following Decision Time on Wednesday 21 February.

## Agenda item 5 – Correspondence

7. The Bureau discussed a response to correspondence from Murdo Fraser MSP.

Katy Orr Clerk to the Parliamentary Bureau 6 February 2024