

The Scottish Parliament Pàrlamaid na h-Alba

Minute of Parliamentary Bureau meeting 30 May 2023 at 12:00 pm Q1.03/MS Teams

Present:

- Anabelle Ewing (Chair)
- Liam McArthur
- Gillian Mackay
- George Adam
- Alexander Burnett
- Martin Whitfield

Also attended:

Rona Mackay

Officials present:

- David McGill
- Tracey White
- Catherine Fergusson
- Mark Brough
- Jo Hardy
- Rebecca Carradice
- Jason Nairn
- Jennifer Bell
- Callum Thomson
- Katy Orr
- Irene Fleming
- Samantha Currie
- Gail Grant
- Susan Duffy

Apologies:

Alison Johnstone

Previous minutes and matters arising

1. Bureau agreed the minutes of its meeting on Tuesday 23 May.

Business Programme

- 2. The Bureau considered a revised programme of business for the week commencing 29 May and a programme of business for the weeks commencing 5 and 12 June 2023.
- 3. The Bureau agreed that Members' Business on Tuesday 6 June would be S6M-08819: Michelle Thomson: Tercentenary of Adam Smith, on Wednesday 7 June, S6M-09106: Mark Ruskell: Transforming Local Bus Services and on Thursday 8 June, S6M-08219: Jeremy Balfour: Ensuring that Lothian Late-diagnosed Deaf Children Get the Support That They Need.
- 4. In relation to future business, Business Managers also agreed the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party business that would have been scheduled for Wednesday 21 June would be postponed until September rather than move to Tuesday 20 June to enable the scheduling of Stage 3 proceedings over two days. The Minister indicated that had the move been agreed, it would not have been considered to set a precedent for the scheduling of opposition debates on a Tuesday rather than a Wednesday.

Referral of LCMs

5. The Bureau agreed to refer the legislative consent memorandums on the Electronic Trade Documents Bill and the Data Protection and Digital Information (No. 2) Bill to the Economy and Fair Work Committee, and to refer the supplementary LCM on Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill to the Constitution, Europe, External Affairs and Culture Committee.

Time for Reflection Programme

- 6. The Bureau agreed—
 - any adjustments to the September December 2023 programme due to contributor availability would be determined by the Presiding Officer;
 - the Presiding Officer would finalise the programme of contributors for the period September December 2023.
- 7. Business Managers agreed to draw to Members' attention the opportunity to nominate contributors for Time for Reflection.

PB/S6/23/MINS/18

Catherine Fergusson Clerk to the Parliamentary Bureau 30 May 2023