

Minute of Parliamentary Bureau meeting 21 December 2021 at 12.00 pm MS Teams

Present:

- Alison Johnstone (chair)
- Annabelle Ewing
- Liam McArthur
- George Adam
- Neil Bibby
- Stephen Kerr
- Gillian Mackay

Also attended:

Gordon MacDonald

Officials present:

- Mark Brough
- Rebecca Carradice
- Gary Cocker
- Polly Davidson
- Catherine Fergusson
- Irene Fleming
- Gail Grant
- David McGill
- Jason Nairn
- Callum Thomson
- Tracey White

Previous minutes

1. The minutes of 14 December 2021 were agreed.

Matters arising

Business Programme

- 2. The Bureau agreed a revised programme of business for the week commencing 20 December 2021, and programmes of business for the weeks commencing 10 and 17 January 2022.
- 3. The Bureau also agreed to recommend to the Parliament changes to the arrangements for the Christmas recess period which would enable the Bureau to schedule meetings of the Parliament on 29 December 2021and 5 January 2022, to enable coronavirus updates to be given. The Bureau noted that, subject to the Parliament's agreement, a meeting on 29 December would be scheduled and that a decision on a 5 January meeting would be taken by correspondence with a final decision reached by 3 January 2022.
- 4. The Bureau agreed that Members Business on Tuesday 11 January 2022 would be S6M-01569: Rachael Hamilton: Endometriosis, on Wednesday 12 January would be S6M-02164: Stuart McMillan: Scottish History in Schools, and on Thursday 13 January, would be S6M-01840: Martin Whitfield: Championing the Right to Holistic Family Support.

Budget Bill and Scottish Rate Resolution

- 5. The Bureau agreed to the proposed timetable for the Budget (Scotland) Bill:
 - Stage 1 debate: Thursday 27 January 2022
 - Stage 2 proceedings: Tuesday 1 February 2022 (Finance and Public Administration Committee)
 - Stage 3 proceedings: Thursday 10 February 2022
- 6. The Bureau also noted the procedural requirements for handling a motion for a Scottish Rate Resolution.

Bill referral

7. The Bureau agreed to refer the draft proposal for the Victims, Criminal Justice and Fatal Accident Inquiries (Scotland) Bill to the Criminal Justice Committee.

Bill referral: Designation of lead Committee at Stage 1

8. The Bureau agreed to recommend to the Parliament that the Local Government, Housing and Planning Committee be designated as the lead committee at Stage 1 for the Non-Domestic Rates (Coronavirus) (Scotland) Bill.

Approval of SSIs

- 5. The Bureau noted that motions to approve the following SSIs would be lodged and taken in the Chamber on Wednesday 22 December:
- Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel and Operator Liability) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 8) Regulations 2021 (SSI 2021/440)
- Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel and Operator Liability) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 9) Regulations 2021 (SSI 2021/441)
- Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel and Operator Liability) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 10) Regulations 2021 (SSI 2021/443)
- Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel and Operator Liability) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 11) Regulations 2021 (SSI 2021/454)
- Health Protection (Coronavirus) (International Travel and Operator Liability) (Scotland) Amendment (No. 12) Regulations 2021 (SSI 2021/455)

LCM referral

6. The Bureau agreed to refer a supplementary legislative consent memorandum on the Health and Care Bill to the Health, Social Care and Sport Committee.

Time for Reflection

- The Bureau agreed that Time for Reflection would continue to be delivered remotely in line with the gradual resumption of services at, and public access to, Holyrood.
- 8. The Bureau also agreed for the Presiding Officer to finalise the programme of contributors for the period January-February 2022, and that any adjustments to the January-February 2022 programme due to contributor availability be determined by the Presiding Officer.

Temporary Rule: CEEAC Committee

9. The Bureau agreed to recommend to the Parliament an extension of Temporary Rule 4 in Standing Orders up to 11 February 2022.

Catherine Fergusson Clerk to the Parliamentary Bureau 21 December 2021